Home Search this Site The Commission: About Us Accomplishments Board of Directors Meetings e-Newsletters Position Statements Press Releases Current Issues UCC Award Winners Wish List Join/Support Us Contact Information Uptown Information: Affordable Condos Block Clubs Census CURL Study
Housing and Land Use
Peregrine Falcons Resource Links TIF Districts ULI Report
Entertainment District
Archived News Articles


Press Releases Index

Uptown Chicago Commission Press Release

July 11, 2003
Contact: David Rowe 773-338-7141

Uptown Chicago Commission Announces 2003 Award Winners and New Officers and Directors at its Annual Awards Banquet
New Good Neighbor Award Given To Martha Name from 920 Lakeside Square
Apartments/Radney Management & Investment, Inc.

CHICAGO - On Thursday, June 19th, the Uptown Chicago Commission (UCC) and about 100 Uptown community group representatives and residents gathered at Cy's Crab House to recognize individuals who have made a difference in Uptown in the past year. Winners have all helped make Uptown a safer place to work, live, and own a business.

The UCC awarded neighbors in the following categories: Good Neighbor, Citizenship, Public Service, Community Service, and Policing Awards. The UCC also recognized William Hersh for Lifetime Achievement. In addition to handing out its annual awards, the UCC announced its 2004 officers and directors.

Good Neighbor Award
Martha Name, 920 Lakeside Square Apartments/Radney Management & Investment, Inc., received UCC's first Good Neighbor Award. Name has worked hard with the 23rd District police to improve the safety of Lakeside Square Apartment's many residents and the neighborhood.

The Florence Bezazian Citizenship Award
Bob Peterson and Judy Yablonski, were awarded the Florence Bezazian Citizenship Award. Peterson is President of Gunnison Block Club and Chairman of Alderman Mary Ann Smith's 48th Ward Zoning and Planning Committee. Yablonski is President of Lakeside Area Neighbors' Association.

Special Public Service Awards
Two Special Public Service Awards were presented. Meg Gillman, CAPS Problem Building Coordinator, Area 3, and Jacob Handleman, Assistant Corporate Council and a member of the Drug & Gang House Enforcement team were both recognized.

Community Service Awards
Community Service Awards were given to Sandy Campbell, CAPS facilitator for Beat 2024 and Domestic Violence Committee Chairman and Barbara Michellotti, long-time member of Scrap Mettle Soul.

Lifetime Achievement Award
Lifetime Achievement Award was given to Bill Hersh who has been an active participant in Uptown's community theatre.

Policing Award
A Policing Award was given to the officers of the 23rd Police District for Operation Walk in the Park. The officers recognized included Sgt. Osvaldo Valdez, Police Officers Ruben Orta, Darwin Butler, Steve Hernandez, Robert McKeever and Landon Wade, Lt. Elias Voulgaris and Assistant States Attorney Peggie Chiampas.

UCC Officers and Directors
The UCC also announced its 2004 officers and directors. Patrick Waters will be President. Mary Metoyer is returning as Secretary. William Hersh is returning as Treasurer. Kathy Cook, Nancy Kellum-Rose and Richard Thale are new Vice Presidents and James Cappleman is a returning Vice President. In addition, Carol Jean Carlson, Kathy Cook and Jim Sakola were each reelected to three-year terms as Board of Directors.

Uptown Chicago Commission Founded in 1955, The UCC's mission is to improve the quality of life for all residents living in Uptown.

top of page

Copyright 1955– Uptown Chicago Commission. All rights reserved.